

Minutes of the Council

Date: Thursday, 14 June 2018

Venue: Council Chamber - Civic Offices

PRESENT:

Mrs S M Bayford (Mayor)

Mrs P M Bryant (Deputy Mayor)

Councillors: K A Barton, Miss S M Bell, F Birkett, J E Butts, T M Cartwright, MBE, Mrs L E Clubley, S Cunningham, P J Davies, S Dugan, Mrs T L Ellis, J M Englefield, K D Evans, G Fazackarley, M J Ford, JP, J S Forrest, Miss T G Harper, Mrs C Heneghan, Mrs C L A Hockley, L Keeble, J G Kelly, Mrs K Mandry, S D Martin, Ms S Pankhurst, R H Price, JP, Mrs K K Trott, N J Walker and S D T Woodward



1. PRAYERS

The meeting was opened with Prayers led by Reverend Gavin Foster of St John's Church, Locks Heath.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors I J Bastable and T Davies.

3. HONORARY ALDERMEN

Members were reminded that this was a special meeting of the Council convened in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 to consider the investiture of office of Honorary Aldermen to Brian Bayford, Arthur Mandry and Dennis Steadman.

4. BRIAN BAYFORD

The following motion was proposed by Councillor S D T Woodward and seconded by Councillor T Cartwright:

"That Brian Bayford be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen to the Borough of Fareham in recognition and acknowledgement of his eminent services to the Council between 2002 to 2018."

In reaching its decision, the Council took account of Brian Bayford's service as a Councillor which included time as Mayor of Fareham between May 2010 and May 2011.

During this time, Brian Bayford was the Executive Member for Health and Environment, the Executive Member for Streetscene and the Executive Member for Health and Housing.

During his time as Councillor, Brian Bayford was also Chairman on many Committees and Panels including the Health and Environment Panel from 2002 to 2004, the Appeals Committee from 2003 to 2004, the Community Review Panel from 2009 to 2010 and the Health and Housing Policy Development and Review Panel from 2015 to 2017. He was also Vice-Chairman of the Scrutiny Board from 2009 to 2010 and the Housing Policy Development and Review Panel from 2017 to 2018.

The Council also recognised the contribution made by Brian Bayford as a Ward Councillor for Park Gate since he was first elected in 2002 and as a representative of the Borough Council at many local organisations concerned with the benefit of Fareham and the welfare of its citizens.

At the invitation of the Mayor, Councillors Mrs K K Trott, Mrs C L A Hockley and P J Davies addressed the meeting.

On being put to the meeting, the motion was declared CARRIED unanimously.

RESOLVED that Brian Bayford be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the Borough of Fareham in recognition and acknowledgment of his eminent services to the Council from 2002 to 2018.

Upon the motion being carried, the Mayor presented Alderman Bayford with a formal document commemorating the grant of office, together with his badge of office. Alderman Bayford was invited to sign the Roll of Honour, duly witnessed by the Mayor and Chief Executive Officer.

Alderman Bayford addressed the Council in reply.

5. ARTHUR MANDRY

The following motion was proposed by Councillor S D T Woodward and seconded by Councillor T Cartwright:

"That Arthur Mandry be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen to the Borough of Fareham in recognition and acknowledgement of his eminent services to the Council from 1995 to 2018."

In reaching its decision, the Council took account of Arthur Mandry's service as a Councillor which included time as Mayor of Fareham between May 2001 and May 2002.

Arthur Mandry was elected Deputy Leader of the Council between 1999 and 2001, and again between 2002 and 2012.

He was also Executive Member for Planning and Transportation, between 1999 and 2006 and Executive Member for Public Protection, between 2006 and 2012.

During his time as Councillor, Arthur Mandry was also Chairman on many Committees and Panels including Planning and Transportation Committee from 1999 to 2001, the Crime and Community Safety Panel from 1999 to 2001 and the Planning and Development Policy Development and Review Panel from 2014 to 2018 and was also Vice-Chairman on the Planning Committee from 1999 to 2018.

The Council also recognises the contribution made by Arthur Mandry as a Ward Councillor for Hill Head since he was first elected in 1995 and as a representative of the Borough Council at many local organisations concerned with the benefit of Fareham and the welfare of its citizens.

At the invitation of the Mayor, Councillors N J Walker, J Forrest and Mrs C L A Hockley addressed the meeting.

On being put to the meeting, the motion was declared CARRIED unanimously.

RESOLVED that Arthur Mandry be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the Borough of Fareham in recognition and acknowledgment of his eminent services to the Council from 1995 to 2018.

Upon the motion being carried, the Mayor presented Alderman Mandry with a formal document commemorating the grant of office, together with his badge of office. Alderman Mandry was invited to sign the Roll of Honour, duly witnessed by the Mayor and Chief Executive Officer.

Alderman Mandry addressed the Council in reply.

6. DENNIS STEADMAN

The following motion was proposed by Councillor S D T Woodward and seconded by Councillor T Cartwright:

"That Dennis Steadman be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen to the Borough of Fareham in recognition and acknowledgement of his eminent services to the Council between 2000 to 2018."

In reaching its decision, the Council took account of Dennis Steadman's service as a Councillor which included time as Mayor of Fareham between May 2012 and May 2013.

During his time as Councillor, Dennis Steadman was Vice-Chairman on the Public Protection Panel from 2007 to 2012 and then again from 2013 to 2014, he was also Vice-Chairman of the Health and Housing Policy Development and Review Panel from 2014 to 2016.

Dennis Steadman was a member of many other Committees, Panels and Boards of the Borough Council, most notably the Leisure and Community Policy Development and Review Panel and the various Housing Committees.

The Council also recognises the contribution made by Dennis Steadman as a Ward Councillor for Fareham South since he was first elected in 2000 and as a representative of the Borough Council at many local organisations concerned with the benefit of Fareham and the welfare of its citizens

At the invitation of the Mayor, Councillors Mrs C L A Hockley, J M Englefield and P Davies addressed the meeting.

On being put to the meeting, the motion was declared CARRIED unanimously.

RESOLVED that Dennis Steadman be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the Borough of Fareham in recognition and acknowledgment of his eminent services to the Council between 2000 to 2018.

Upon the motion being carried, the Mayor presented Alderman Steadman with a formal document commemorating the grant of office, together with his badge of office. Alderman Steadman was invited to sign the Roll of Honour, duly witnessed by the Mayor and Chief Executive Officer. Alderman Steadman addressed the Council in reply.

The Mayor gave her congratulations to the Aldermen and then concluded the meeting.

(The meeting started at 5.30 pm and ended at 6.25 pm).